Mirage Source

Free ORPG making software.
It is currently Sun Apr 28, 2024 10:35 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 90 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Sliding Map Transition
PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2008 8:20 pm 
Offline
Knowledgeable

Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 2:59 pm
Posts: 143
Location: London, England
Google Talk: aeronjl+mirage@googlemail.com
Sliding Map Transition
ORIGINAL CODE BY DAVE
Difficulty: 3/5 - Requires understanding

Backup your source!

Tutorial Subject to Change with new versions of MS4

Example: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wh77gAUOKSE
(Note: Game featured is Merrimint)

[Edit by Dave: tutorial removed because it was copy and paste]
[Edit by Robin: tutorial removed because it was just images with code in them]


Last edited by Acruno on Mon Aug 25, 2008 11:50 am, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2008 8:33 pm 
Offline
Submit-Happy
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 7:01 am
Posts: 2768
Location: Yorkshire, UK
:roll:

Nice, just make it C&P.

At least write it out so people learn something from it.

_________________
Quote:
Robin:
Why aren't maps and shit loaded up in a dynamic array?
Jacob:
the 4 people that know how are lazy
Robin:
Who are those 4 people?
Jacob:
um
you, me, and 2 others?


Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2008 8:38 pm 
Offline
Knowledgeable

Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 2:59 pm
Posts: 143
Location: London, England
Google Talk: aeronjl+mirage@googlemail.com
Sorry, I meant to mention, I will add explanations tomorrow, I just wanted to actually get it up first, a bit busy IRL at the moment :roll:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2008 8:54 pm 
Offline
Community Leader
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 28, 2006 10:29 pm
Posts: 1762
Location: Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Google Talk: Darunada@gmail.com
A lot of that code is unnecessary (like copymemory) and the comments I added were just there because that's what I did first, and then changed it.

So clean it up and make it seem somewhat intelligent, instead of just saying exactly what the svn patch says.

_________________
I'm on Facebook! Google Plus LinkedIn My Youtube Channel Send me an email Call me with Skype Check me out on Bitbucket Yup, I'm an EVE Online player!
Why not try my app, ColorEye, on your Android devlce?
Do you like social gaming? Fight it out in Battle Juice!

I am a professional software developer in Salt Lake City, UT.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 20, 2008 2:11 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2008 12:50 am
Posts: 4
Seems to me like it needs Optimized Surfaces, because it uses MiddleBuffer, LowerBuffer, and UpperBuffer.

Then again, I'm probably wrong. :|


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 20, 2008 2:22 pm 
Offline
Submit-Happy
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 7:01 am
Posts: 2768
Location: Yorkshire, UK
It's built for the latest version of Mirage, which comes with optimised surfaces.

_________________
Quote:
Robin:
Why aren't maps and shit loaded up in a dynamic array?
Jacob:
the 4 people that know how are lazy
Robin:
Who are those 4 people?
Jacob:
um
you, me, and 2 others?


Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 20, 2008 2:23 pm 
Offline
Knowledgeable

Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 2:59 pm
Posts: 143
Location: London, England
Google Talk: aeronjl+mirage@googlemail.com
It works fine with a Vanilla MS3.43, not sure what DFA and Dave has changed/removed since then though.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 20, 2008 2:35 pm 
Offline
Persistant Poster
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2007 10:30 pm
Posts: 1510
Location: Virginia, USA
Google Talk: hpmccloud@gmail.com
Wouldn't it be better to just move the map on the same layer instead of doing it on another one? It would be harder, however...I think?

_________________
Nean wrote:
Yes harold. Give it to me.

Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 20, 2008 2:46 pm 
Offline
Community Leader
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 28, 2006 10:29 pm
Posts: 1762
Location: Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Google Talk: Darunada@gmail.com
I'd see no advantage to reverting to "the old way of doing things"

The entire map is only drawn once, then the appropriate sections are copied to the back buffer.

_________________
I'm on Facebook! Google Plus LinkedIn My Youtube Channel Send me an email Call me with Skype Check me out on Bitbucket Yup, I'm an EVE Online player!
Why not try my app, ColorEye, on your Android devlce?
Do you like social gaming? Fight it out in Battle Juice!

I am a professional software developer in Salt Lake City, UT.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 20, 2008 2:48 pm 
Offline
Persistant Poster
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2007 10:30 pm
Posts: 1510
Location: Virginia, USA
Google Talk: hpmccloud@gmail.com
Ah well I guess I just think of hard ways to do things. :P

Nice work, though.

_________________
Nean wrote:
Yes harold. Give it to me.

Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 21, 2008 7:21 pm 
Offline
Knowledgeable

Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 2:59 pm
Posts: 143
Location: London, England
Google Talk: aeronjl+mirage@googlemail.com
I've found a bug in the transition. When the map slides, it displays the tile at the top of the column that your tile is in, as opposed to the tile itself. I will have a look at the code and see what is wrong.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 22, 2008 1:13 pm 
Offline
Community Leader
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 28, 2006 10:29 pm
Posts: 1762
Location: Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Google Talk: Darunada@gmail.com
That bug must be because of the new MS version.

It works perfect in both my test bed, and in Merrimint.

Robin nearly has it working in Winds Whisper, too.

_________________
I'm on Facebook! Google Plus LinkedIn My Youtube Channel Send me an email Call me with Skype Check me out on Bitbucket Yup, I'm an EVE Online player!
Why not try my app, ColorEye, on your Android devlce?
Do you like social gaming? Fight it out in Battle Juice!

I am a professional software developer in Salt Lake City, UT.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 22, 2008 8:12 pm 
Offline
Community Leader
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 28, 2006 10:29 pm
Posts: 1762
Location: Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Google Talk: Darunada@gmail.com
Anyways, in the MSE thread Acruno said he wouldn't make it a copy and paste tutorial. This is clearly a copy and paste tutorial, so I am going to (for once) exploit my moderator powers and remove it. It can be reposted in a not-copy-and-paste format if someone wants.

_________________
I'm on Facebook! Google Plus LinkedIn My Youtube Channel Send me an email Call me with Skype Check me out on Bitbucket Yup, I'm an EVE Online player!
Why not try my app, ColorEye, on your Android devlce?
Do you like social gaming? Fight it out in Battle Juice!

I am a professional software developer in Salt Lake City, UT.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 22, 2008 9:34 pm 
Offline
Persistant Poster
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 30, 2006 2:07 am
Posts: 836
Location: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Google Talk: rs.ruggles@gmail.com
I support your decision.

_________________
I'm on Facebook! Google Plus My Youtube Channel My Steam Profile

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 22, 2008 10:33 pm 
Offline
Pro
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2006 8:04 pm
Posts: 464
Location: MI
Google Talk: asrrin29@gmail.com
I had a feeling that would happen, which is why I made a copy for personal use :P

not like I'm going to use it though, because I'm trying to get scrolling maps working on mine.

_________________
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 22, 2008 10:35 pm 
Offline
Persistant Poster
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 30, 2006 2:07 am
Posts: 836
Location: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Google Talk: rs.ruggles@gmail.com
I made a copy of it too. I also don't intend to use it on my game (nor scrolling maps). Though I do have a project in mind that sliding maps would be use full for, I think I'm just gonna use MS4 (or whatever it's called these days)

_________________
I'm on Facebook! Google Plus My Youtube Channel My Steam Profile

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 24, 2008 3:46 pm 
Offline
Regular
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 2:45 am
Posts: 62
Location: Texas, USA
Damnett, I didn't get a copy of it.. Lol.

_________________
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 24, 2008 4:49 pm 
Offline
Submit-Happy
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 7:01 am
Posts: 2768
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Asrrin29 wrote:
I had a feeling that would happen, which is why I made a copy for personal use :P

not like I'm going to use it though, because I'm trying to get scrolling maps working on mine.


You mean Dugor is.

_________________
Quote:
Robin:
Why aren't maps and shit loaded up in a dynamic array?
Jacob:
the 4 people that know how are lazy
Robin:
Who are those 4 people?
Jacob:
um
you, me, and 2 others?


Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 24, 2008 6:43 pm 
Offline
Pro
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2006 8:04 pm
Posts: 464
Location: MI
Google Talk: asrrin29@gmail.com
he's trying to get scrolling maps working period, lol. once he gets it working in a blank MS, him and I will work on getting it into my game. But yes, he's been helping me a lot lately and doing an awesome job.

_________________
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 24, 2008 7:37 pm 
Offline
Persistant Poster
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2007 10:30 pm
Posts: 1510
Location: Virginia, USA
Google Talk: hpmccloud@gmail.com
Somebody PM this to me, please :?

_________________
Nean wrote:
Yes harold. Give it to me.

Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 24, 2008 8:42 pm 
Offline
Community Leader
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 28, 2006 10:29 pm
Posts: 1762
Location: Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Google Talk: Darunada@gmail.com
lol srsly, it's really easy to do...

_________________
I'm on Facebook! Google Plus LinkedIn My Youtube Channel Send me an email Call me with Skype Check me out on Bitbucket Yup, I'm an EVE Online player!
Why not try my app, ColorEye, on your Android devlce?
Do you like social gaming? Fight it out in Battle Juice!

I am a professional software developer in Salt Lake City, UT.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 24, 2008 8:50 pm 
Offline
Persistant Poster
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2007 10:30 pm
Posts: 1510
Location: Virginia, USA
Google Talk: hpmccloud@gmail.com
I know I just want to see how you did it and since I've never tried to do it myself I don't know how to.

_________________
Nean wrote:
Yes harold. Give it to me.

Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2008 1:48 am 
Download the source that has it? It's really not that hard.


Top
  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2008 1:50 am 
Offline
Submit-Happy
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 7:01 am
Posts: 2768
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Download the patch file and add it in? :|

_________________
Quote:
Robin:
Why aren't maps and shit loaded up in a dynamic array?
Jacob:
the 4 people that know how are lazy
Robin:
Who are those 4 people?
Jacob:
um
you, me, and 2 others?


Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2008 2:22 am 
Offline
Persistant Poster
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2007 10:30 pm
Posts: 1510
Location: Virginia, USA
Google Talk: hpmccloud@gmail.com
It's not in the source yet besides the SVC patch (right?) and I can't get subversion to work yet.

_________________
Nean wrote:
Yes harold. Give it to me.

Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 90 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 24 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group