Mirage Source

Free ORPG making software.
It is currently Mon Jun 03, 2024 11:11 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1593 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 ... 64  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 2:30 pm 
Offline
Community Leader
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 28, 2006 10:29 pm
Posts: 1762
Location: Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Google Talk: Darunada@gmail.com
Doesn't TCP ensure that you always get a full packet?

_________________
I'm on Facebook! Google Plus LinkedIn My Youtube Channel Send me an email Call me with Skype Check me out on Bitbucket Yup, I'm an EVE Online player!
Why not try my app, ColorEye, on your Android devlce?
Do you like social gaming? Fight it out in Battle Juice!

I am a professional software developer in Salt Lake City, UT.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 2:36 pm 
Offline
Pro
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 2:42 pm
Posts: 509
Don't quote me, but I think TCP just means there is no packet loss, doesn't mean it comes all at once.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 28, 2008 5:07 am 
Offline
Pro

Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 5:01 pm
Posts: 420
Location: Canada, BC
Google Talk: anthony.fleck@gmail.com
I would say maybe reverting back to 3.49 (even though I did spend quite a bit of time on it x.x) would be best for now. Maybe?

Besides that everything that has been done so far is excellent DFA, Mirage has taken a massive jump in organization and optimizations since you started working on it. Is great!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 28, 2008 6:33 am 
Offline
Community Leader
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 28, 2006 10:29 pm
Posts: 1762
Location: Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Google Talk: Darunada@gmail.com
Adding all these packets to an enum does make it a lot more difficult. I see it as "Why go that far and get no preformance benefit?" If we move the packet names into an enum, lets go all the way and do it right.

I was proposing keeping string packets, just passing them off to the handler function by address instead of going through giant if statements.

_________________
I'm on Facebook! Google Plus LinkedIn My Youtube Channel Send me an email Call me with Skype Check me out on Bitbucket Yup, I'm an EVE Online player!
Why not try my app, ColorEye, on your Android devlce?
Do you like social gaming? Fight it out in Battle Juice!

I am a professional software developer in Salt Lake City, UT.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 29, 2008 4:23 am 
Offline
Community Leader
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 28, 2006 10:29 pm
Posts: 1762
Location: Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Google Talk: Darunada@gmail.com
Strings suck hard. If you want, I could do binary packets. It's hard though, and will probably take me a long time. I did binary packets on Valkoria once upon a time, it never did work the same :P

_________________
I'm on Facebook! Google Plus LinkedIn My Youtube Channel Send me an email Call me with Skype Check me out on Bitbucket Yup, I'm an EVE Online player!
Why not try my app, ColorEye, on your Android devlce?
Do you like social gaming? Fight it out in Battle Juice!

I am a professional software developer in Salt Lake City, UT.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 29, 2008 5:45 pm 
Offline
Community Leader
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 28, 2006 10:29 pm
Posts: 1762
Location: Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Google Talk: Darunada@gmail.com
Sure, start with that.

_________________
I'm on Facebook! Google Plus LinkedIn My Youtube Channel Send me an email Call me with Skype Check me out on Bitbucket Yup, I'm an EVE Online player!
Why not try my app, ColorEye, on your Android devlce?
Do you like social gaming? Fight it out in Battle Juice!

I am a professional software developer in Salt Lake City, UT.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 29, 2008 8:35 pm 
Offline
Community Leader
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 28, 2006 10:29 pm
Posts: 1762
Location: Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Google Talk: Darunada@gmail.com
:D no

_________________
I'm on Facebook! Google Plus LinkedIn My Youtube Channel Send me an email Call me with Skype Check me out on Bitbucket Yup, I'm an EVE Online player!
Why not try my app, ColorEye, on your Android devlce?
Do you like social gaming? Fight it out in Battle Juice!

I am a professional software developer in Salt Lake City, UT.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 29, 2008 9:25 pm 
Offline
Community Leader
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 28, 2006 10:29 pm
Posts: 1762
Location: Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Google Talk: Darunada@gmail.com
You have our support.

Just remember, if you release it as final, no one will contribute at all anymore ;-;

_________________
I'm on Facebook! Google Plus LinkedIn My Youtube Channel Send me an email Call me with Skype Check me out on Bitbucket Yup, I'm an EVE Online player!
Why not try my app, ColorEye, on your Android devlce?
Do you like social gaming? Fight it out in Battle Juice!

I am a professional software developer in Salt Lake City, UT.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 03, 2008 10:35 am 
Offline
Knowledgeable

Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 2:59 pm
Posts: 143
Location: London, England
Google Talk: aeronjl+mirage@googlemail.com
I noticed that with the timer walking system, every now and then the character sort of freezes for about half a second, then carries on. It seems to be an irregular occurance, but I haven't really looked into it extensively.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 03, 2008 12:42 pm 
It's prolly just you, cause I've never seen that.


Top
  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 03, 2008 5:44 pm 
Offline
Community Leader
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 28, 2006 10:29 pm
Posts: 1762
Location: Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Google Talk: Darunada@gmail.com
Gotta find a way to make it happen consistently before you can fix it reliably.

_________________
I'm on Facebook! Google Plus LinkedIn My Youtube Channel Send me an email Call me with Skype Check me out on Bitbucket Yup, I'm an EVE Online player!
Why not try my app, ColorEye, on your Android devlce?
Do you like social gaming? Fight it out in Battle Juice!

I am a professional software developer in Salt Lake City, UT.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 03, 2008 7:55 pm 
Offline
Pro

Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 5:01 pm
Posts: 420
Location: Canada, BC
Google Talk: anthony.fleck@gmail.com
Small bug in Sub CastSpell when trying to cast without a target gives a subscript out of range.

I just added in:

Code:
If TempPlayer(Index).Target = TARGET_TYPE_NONE Then
        Exit Sub
    End If


At the top of the sub.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 04, 2008 4:12 am 
Offline
Persistant Poster
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 6:42 am
Posts: 703
Google Talk: infectiousbyte@gmail.com
Errr... Sorry for necro posting, but I just tested this out, and it runs very very well. I think this is what I'm going to use, to start actually delving into VB6.

_________________
Image
GIAKEN wrote:
Since I'm into men, not women

GIAKEN wrote:
I can't take these huge penises anymore! All that's left is shame! And blood


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 04, 2008 7:39 am 
Offline
Persistant Poster
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 30, 2006 2:07 am
Posts: 836
Location: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Google Talk: rs.ruggles@gmail.com
There's been like 4 other posts in this thread today. :?

_________________
I'm on Facebook! Google Plus My Youtube Channel My Steam Profile

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 04, 2008 2:22 pm 
Offline
Knowledgeable

Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 2:59 pm
Posts: 143
Location: London, England
Google Talk: aeronjl+mirage@googlemail.com
The movement goes, step step freeze step step freeze etc.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Sep 08, 2008 9:17 am 
Offline
Regular

Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2007 2:47 pm
Posts: 40
How to add this :
viewtopic.php?f=75&t=1090 (extra layer)
and
viewtopic.php?f=75&t=797 (Adding Width to the MapEditor)

to MS4 please ? :|

PS: Thanks you DFA for MS4 :D


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Sep 08, 2008 1:13 pm 
Offline
Knowledgeable
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2006 11:22 pm
Posts: 143
Location: Virginia, USA
The extra layers tutorial won't work without changes on MS4 because of the optimized surfaces. :mrgreen: You've gotta figure out how the code works before screwing around with it like that. (Or just copy all the ground stuff like Advocate said in a post before.)

As for map editor width, change the .width in it and handle how the client reads it all. The magic number is 7, I believe. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Sep 08, 2008 1:17 pm 
Offline
Community Leader
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 28, 2006 10:29 pm
Posts: 1762
Location: Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Google Talk: Darunada@gmail.com
Everything should work except the drawing, I believe. The drawing is suuper easy to adapt if you have a brain larger than the average primate.

_________________
I'm on Facebook! Google Plus LinkedIn My Youtube Channel Send me an email Call me with Skype Check me out on Bitbucket Yup, I'm an EVE Online player!
Why not try my app, ColorEye, on your Android devlce?
Do you like social gaming? Fight it out in Battle Juice!

I am a professional software developer in Salt Lake City, UT.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Sep 09, 2008 1:12 am 
Offline
Knowledgeable
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2006 11:22 pm
Posts: 143
Location: Virginia, USA
Unless you're just making it for a few friends who don't really care about the details. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2008 8:33 pm 
Offline
Persistant Poster
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2007 10:30 pm
Posts: 1510
Location: Virginia, USA
Google Talk: hpmccloud@gmail.com
The first thing I see is you're not using the benefit of putting a sub in it's on module (HandleData). Every time the sub is called it creates all of these variables:

Code:
Dim Parse() As String
Dim Name As String
Dim Password As String
Dim Sex As Long
Dim Class As Long
Dim CharNum As Long
Dim Msg As String
Dim MsgTo As Long
Dim Dir As Long
Dim InvNum As Long
Dim Ammount As Long
Dim Damage As Long
Dim PointType As Long
Dim Movement As Long
Dim i As Long, n As Long, x As Long, y As Long, f As Long
Dim MapNum As Long
Dim s As String
Dim tMapStart As Long, tMapEnd As Long
Dim ShopNum As Long, ItemNum As Long
Dim DurNeeded As Long, GoldNeeded As Long


There really isn't a point to them not being static...so it would be good to just do:

Code:
Private Parse() As String
Private Name As String
Private Password As String
Private Sex As Long
Private Class As Long
Private CharNum As Long
Private Msg As String
Private MsgTo As Long
Private Dir As Long
Private InvNum As Long
Private Ammount As Long
Private Damage As Long
Private PointType As Long
Private Movement As Long
Private i As Long
Private n As Long
Private x As Long
Private y As Long
Private f As Long
Private MapNum As Long
Private s As String
Private tMapStart As Long
Private tMapEnd As Long
Private ShopNum As Long
Private ItemNum As Long
Private DurNeeded As Long
Private GoldNeeded As Long


Also any other subs / functions that get called a lot (like in a loop or whatever) should get static variables.

_________________
Nean wrote:
Yes harold. Give it to me.

Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2008 2:48 pm 
Offline
Pro
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 2:42 pm
Posts: 509
http://www.deadnoggin.com/deadnoggin/ms4.rar

Quote:
+++++++++++++
++ MS 3.51 ++
+++++++++++++
*This release was done by Dugor*

--------
|Client|
--------
- Changed Val() to the appropriate Conversion
- HandleKeyPresses - Added a check for "/" before checking commands
- HandleKeyPresses - Changed how commands are checked with a string array http://web.miragesource.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=120&t=4331#p52200
- Finished Equipment Enum
- Fixed leaving map while in mapeditor - Dfa and Nean

--------
|Server|
--------
- Finished Equipment Enum


I don't have enough time to do much more.


Last edited by Jacob on Thu Sep 18, 2008 3:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 20, 2008 5:15 am 
Offline
Community Leader
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 28, 2006 10:29 pm
Posts: 1762
Location: Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Google Talk: Darunada@gmail.com
Quote:
@Lea
in your modification...what was the purpose of
- Changed LeftGame check from =0 to <1
i think = 0 is fine...we'd like it to be 0, and its never going to be less than 0


It's considered good practice for loops like that. You don't know if it will be exactly 0. Ever have the computer report 23.012312354365347657x10^-250 for 0 before? That does not equal 0, but you would still want to loop to close.

_________________
I'm on Facebook! Google Plus LinkedIn My Youtube Channel Send me an email Call me with Skype Check me out on Bitbucket Yup, I'm an EVE Online player!
Why not try my app, ColorEye, on your Android devlce?
Do you like social gaming? Fight it out in Battle Juice!

I am a professional software developer in Salt Lake City, UT.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 20, 2008 5:45 pm 
Offline
Community Leader
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 28, 2006 10:29 pm
Posts: 1762
Location: Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Google Talk: Darunada@gmail.com
yeah yeah, which is why it's good practice.

_________________
I'm on Facebook! Google Plus LinkedIn My Youtube Channel Send me an email Call me with Skype Check me out on Bitbucket Yup, I'm an EVE Online player!
Why not try my app, ColorEye, on your Android devlce?
Do you like social gaming? Fight it out in Battle Juice!

I am a professional software developer in Salt Lake City, UT.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 20, 2008 5:53 pm 
Offline
Persistant Poster
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2007 10:30 pm
Posts: 1510
Location: Virginia, USA
Google Talk: hpmccloud@gmail.com
I just compared the time it takes with the < 1 check and the = 0 check and they're about the same... :(

_________________
Nean wrote:
Yes harold. Give it to me.

Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 21, 2008 7:50 pm 
Offline
Regular
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 5:36 pm
Posts: 53
just looked in the changelog and read
Quote:
Changed variable CanMoveNow from Byte to Boolean

why was this done?
a boolean in vb6 uses 2 bytes, as far as i know. so a byte is always better than a boolean?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1593 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 ... 64  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group